Home » Patients/visitors » EU citizens

EU citizens


If you want to receive medical treatment at our clinic and have health insurance in another EU member state, all costs may be reimbursed under specific circumstances by the health insurance company in your country of residence.

Details are regulated in Directive 2011/24/EU of the European Parliament and Council on the application of patients’ rights in cross-border healthcare from March 9, 2011. If you make use of this option, you will not be treated as a patient with statutory health insurance, but as one with private health insurance here in Germany.

In addition, you may also be entitled to reimbursements based on EC regulation no. 883/2004 on the coordination of social security systems, in which case you can receive the kind of treatment in Germany that someone with German statutory health insurance would receive. This means that you are entitled to the same range of services as someone with German statutory health insurance. In that case the treatment costs will be settled directly with the health insurance company in your country of residence as far as possible.

Before receiving treatment with us you should check with your health insurance company if specific preconditions for treatment in your country of residence need to be fulfilled. In some case for example, you may require approval from your health insurance company or you may need to make specific applications.

If the conditions are not fulfilled under the law of your country of residence and you still receive treatment in Germany, your health insurance company is under no obligation to cover the costs in full or in part.

For further information please contact your health insurance company or talk to your national point of contact for cross-border healthcare. These national points of contact provide information on healthcare providers, health insurance companies, patient organizations and patient rights. The aim is to simplify the exchange of information and to increase transparency of the health systems that can be very complex at times.

www.eu-patienten.de/de/behandlung_ausland/behandlung_im_eu_ausland.jsp

www.gesundheit.gv.at/Portal.Node/ghp/public/content/nationale-kontaktstelle.html

If the conditions for treatment in Germany have been fulfilled, then there is nothing to prevent you from being treated at our clinic. Your health insurance company is obliged to reimburse you for the costs they would have reimbursed for the same treatment in your country of residence. Our clinic will only invoice you this amount.

Home » Patienten/Besucher » EU-Bürger

EU-Bürger


Wenn Sie sich bei uns medizinisch behandeln lassen möchten und in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Union krankenversichert sind, können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen die Kosten dafür vom Krankenversicherer Ihres Wohnsitzstaates erstattet werden.

Einzelheiten hierzu sind in der Richtlinie 2011/24/EU des europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 9. März 2011 über die Ausübung der Patientenrechte in der grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsversorgung geregelt. Wenn Sie von dieser Möglichkeit Gebrauch machen, werden Sie in Deutschland nicht wie ein gesetzlich, sondern wie ein privat Krankenversicherter behandelt.

Daneben könnten Sie auch Ansprüche aufgrund der Europäischen Verordnung zur Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit, der EG-Verordnung Nr. 883/2004, haben. In diesem Fall können Sie sich in Deutschland behandeln lassen, als ob Sie in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversichert wären. Sie haben also Anspruch auf denselben Leistungsumfang wie ein gesetzlich in Deutschland Krankenversicherter. In dem Fall werden die für die Behandlung anfallenden Kosten weitestgehend direkt mit Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger im Wohnstaat abgerechnet.

Vor einer Behandlung bei uns sollten Sie sich also bei Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger erkundigen, ob für eine Behandlung in Ihrem Wohnstaat bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein müssen. Beispielsweise benötigen Sie in manchen Fällen vorab eine Genehmigung Ihrer Krankenversicherung oder müssen spezielle Anträge stellen.

Sind die Voraussetzungen nach dem Recht Ihres Wohnstaates nicht erfüllt und lassen Sie sich dennoch in Deutschland medizinisch behandeln, ist Ihre Krankenversicherung nicht verpflichtet, Ihnen die Kosten ganz oder teilweise zu erstatten.

Weitergehende Informationen erhalten Sie bei Ihrer Krankenversicherung oder bei der für Sie zuständigen nationalen  Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung. Diese nationalen Kontaktstellen stellen Informationen über Gesundheitsdienstleister, Krankenversicherungsträger, Patientenorganisationen und Patientenrechte bereit. Das Ziel ist es, den Informationsaustausch zu erleichtern und die Transparenz der mitunter sehr komplexen Gesundheitssysteme zu erhöhen.

www.eu-patienten.de/de/behandlung_ausland/behandlung_im_eu_ausland.jsp

www.gesundheit.gv.at/Portal.Node/ghp/public/content/nationale-kontaktstelle.html

Sind die Voraussetzungen für eine Behandlung in Deutschland erfüllt, steht Ihrer Behandlung in unserem Haus nichts mehr im Wege. Ihr Krankenversicherer ist verpflichtet, Ihnen den Betrag zu erstatten, den er bei der gleichen Behandlung in Ihrem Wohnstaat getragen hätte. Unser Haus wird Ihnen auch nur diesen Betrag in Rechnung stellen.